Explicit Music is the publishing company that deals with Wud Records and all of the bands that come under the Wud Records label. Explicit Music is headquartered in Exeter, England.


Another Star in the Sky by Flicker.
Album: At Least 1000 Words

Composed by G. Davies/D. Danielli/L. Welsman.

George: guitars, keys, synths, percussion
Dave: Plank, drums
Lucy: cello

Project directed by George Davies.

Drums recorded at Clark’s Cottage, West Putford, North Devon.
Strings, synths and percussion recorded at Chiseldon House, Exeter.
Stratocaster solos recorded by Dan Davies.

Engineered, mixed, produced and mastered by Dave Danielli.
Remastered at Wud Records Studios (uk) 2012.
Remastered again at Wud Records Studios (EU) August 2023.

Originally released 31st July 2002.
First re-release 12th May 2012.
Second re-release 1st September 2023.

Copyright © 2023 Wud Records.
Copyright ℗ 2000 Explicit Music.

Fun Facts:
* Another Star in the Sky is dedicated to George’s father, who passed away around the time of its creation.
* He never heard it.
* In the evening of the day when Mr Davies senior died, the sky was cloudy and only one star could be seen.
* Another Star in the Sky was almost named Another Scar in the Sty due to an outburst of mispronunciation.
* This would have been appropriate in some ways, because George (bass) and Dave (drums) were playing in a kick-ass folk band called Pyg at the same time.
* Pyg’s live performances could be a bit hit-or-miss, due to some of the dynamics within the band.
= Some of Pyg’s songs can be heard in the Archives section of the Wud Records website.
* Another Star in the Sky is based around the acoustic guitar part.
* It is in 6/8 time at a sedate 75 BPM.
* The key is G# minor, and it ends on a B major.
* Lucy’s cello copies the acoustic’s melody.
* George’s son Dan helped with the recording of the Stratocaster solos.
* Dan took up playing guitar that day and has now become a fabulous and accomplised player.
* No real horn players could be found at the time, so those parts were played using MIDI.
* The horn parts are actually quite amusing and rather scrappy.
* One of the guitar parts was made by setting the old Marshall to the most horrible sound possible, with maximum overdrive, presence and treble, and no mid or bass.
* The idea for this came from a track by Tindersticks, called Vertrauen II, from their second album.
* Dave was wincing as if to say “This just isn’t gonna work!”
* The part was dropped back in the mix and treated to a little reverb and it was “just right”.
* The idea for the simple yet distinct piano came from a piece George used to play on piano as a boy of about nine.
* It was from Forest Fantasies by Walter Carroll.

See also: