Explicit Music is the publishing company that deals with Wud Records and all of the bands that come under the Wud Records label. Explicit Music is headquartered in Exeter, England.


Sauce! by Flicker.
Album: HappySad

Composed by G. Davies.

George Davies – guitars
Maxx Damage – bass
Sven Stiglund – drums

Recorded, engineered, mixed, produced and mastered at Wud Records Studio One, Exeter, 2016.
Remastered at Wud Records Studios 2023.

Originally released 14th October 2016.
First re-release April 2023.

Copyright © 2023 Wud Records.
Copyright ℗ 2002 Explicit Music.

Fun Facts:
* Sauce! is cheeky, suggestive, innuendo-laden saucy sauce, rather than, say, ketchup – hence the exclamation mark.
* This tune was born from the idea of when somebody looks at you in a particularly special way and you both understand immediately.
* Sauce! is a tune in the glorious key of G.
* The dominant D is too confused to know whether it wants to be major or minor, so it changes from one to the other.
* George plays the guitar parts on Nicodemus.
* Maxx is slapping the Plank (literal fact rather than euphemism).
* Sven is busy hammering away on mostly Tama and Zildjian, with a curious yet devastating wooden piccolo snare of unknown origin and a china cymbal from a specialist in a backstreet of London.
* The main G-chord of this piece is a G no-3rd, or the ‘Van Halen G’ if you will.
* This chord is played with just the thumb over the low E string on the third fret and deadening the A string completely, then the first finger fretting the B and hi-E strings on the third fret.
* The G and D strings are open.
* This a great chord for flapping the other fingers about wildly to make it look like you are playing something impressive.
* Maxx does some wonderfully saucy string bending and slapping over the main G-riff which adds to the whole feel of cheekiness.
* Towards the end, George plays some double right-hand hammer-ons to make four-note arpeggios over the main theme of the piece.
* This is a technique he first saw a wonderfully talented young busker from central Africa using in Soho to play a Joe Satriani cover.
* The melodic middle section is Gm, F/G, Cm, Bb/C, Dm, Fmaj7, Ebmaj7; Gm, F/G, Cm, Bb/C, D7sus4, C7sus4, D7sus4, C7sus4, D7sus4.

See also: