Explicit Music is the publishing company that deals with Wud Records and all of the bands that come under the Wud Records label. Explicit Music is headquartered in Exeter, England.


Short and Sweet by The Subterraineans.
EP: Demo

Somehow it just doesn’t suit me
Oh I try but it just won’t fit
Some way a promise of another day
Means nothing, nothing to me

Hold on – I’ve been here before
Waiting here – looking for an open door
Go to sleep – it’s just another empty day
Go around – and do it again
Time – time on my shoulder
Death – awaits round the corner

Life, life, give me life

Oh dear Lord there’s got to be another way
I’ve done no wrong yet somehow I pay
The truth – it doesn’t seem to play no part
I can’t moan though nothing is right

Fight – running up another hill
It’s tight – a little more than before
Expense – is all there ever seems to be
Push and shove – just for a little bit more
Time – time on my shoulder
Death – awaits round the corner

Life, life, give me life
Because life is short and sweet
It’s short and sweet

Words and music by Dean Trotter.
Copyright ℗ 1986 Explicit Music.

Music and lyrics by Dean Trotter.
This arrangement by The Subterraineans.

Recorded, mixed and produced by George Davies at 31 Cowick Lane, Exeter, 1986.
Remastered at Wud Records Studios 2023.

Originally released 7th January 1987.

Dean Trotter – vocals, electric guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar
George Davies – electric lead guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, EDP Wasp
Jerry Peirce – bass
Graham Barbe – drums

Cover Art:
The cover painting is by an unknown artist. We have no idea what the painting is called or who it is by and would love to know. If you happen to know details so we can credit the artist for his or her awesome creation, please tell us!

The painting itself came from a street market in York in around 1984 and was given to Wud Records as a gift. They have always loved it. It seems to represent the spirit of Wud somehow, as they venture forth carrying their musical flag through the underworld, leaving a trail of music on the journey.

Fun Facts:
* Short and Sweet is in the key of A minor.
* We believe it was composed in the first few months of 1986.
* It was part of the set of The Addled Eggs before that band morphed into The Subterraineans.
* The acoustic rhythm guitar was played on Senga’s Yamaha steel string.
* The 12-string was an Ibanez acoustic with a cutaway.
* Dean’s rhythm guitar was performed on a black Squier Stratocaster plugged into a Sound City head and an unknown cabinet.
* George’s lead guitar was played on an Ibanez Roadstar plugged in to a five-channel HH P.A. head with a pair of dual concentric HH P.A. cabs.
* Effects used include a Boss HM2 distortion, a Boss GE7 graphic and a Guyatone Analog Delay.
* George added the Wasp to fatten out the bottom end a little.
* It was one of the first Subterraineans songs that Jerry learned to play on the bass.
* Dean would say “It’s got to go in… and out… in, and out.”
* Fortunately George knew what he meant and was able to translate this to Jerry.
* Short and Sweet was recorded using a Tascam 244 portastudio.
* A pair of Aria mics were used to record everything – an AM 60D and an AM 20D.
* For more info about these two mics, click here: http://www.muzines.co.uk/articles/aria-professional-microphones/5925
* The song was mixed to cassette on a Realistic SCT-60 twin cassette recorder.
* The serial number for the cassette machine is 05200319.
* Due to many years of cassette deterioration, the quality of this recording is not great.
* We have managed to improve a little on what remained.
* This EP was first released on 7th January 1987.
* Cassette salvage and digitisation performed 2008.
* Audio remastered at Wud Records Studios 2023.
* Graphics by Sam James and Blueprint Studios.
* After this song was uploaded to SoundCloud, it was discovered by a band called The Eldar.
* They honoured The Subterraineans with a beautiful cover version of this song.
* Here is a link: https://soundcloud.com/theeldarstar/6-short-and-sweet-eldar-cover-of-the-subteraneans-7th-oct
* Short and Sweet is an incredible and epic song that had the power to profoundly affect people who heard it live.

Copyright ℗ 1986 Explicit Music.
Copyright © 1987 Wud Records.


Dean took his own life by suicide at the Clifton suspension bridge, Bristol, in 1994. He was just 29 years old.

Dean had no help at all from the uk medical profession or social services for his mental health, addiction and homelessness. If he had had some professional help he would surely still be here with us today.

All proceeds from sales of this album beyond 1 Euro will be donated to The Samaritans, who try to help prevent people jumping from that notorious bridge in Bristol. Don’t jump – things may not look so bleak tomorrow.

In Short and Sweet, Dean sings “Give me life” – we hope by keeping his songs in the public domain we are able to do that, just a little.

Rest in peace, Dean.

See also: